top of page
  • Writer's pictureJill Ball

Visions

My hobby is painting. I relax when surrounded by mountains, forests and streams. When I have been out in the countryside on a walk, I revisit the places we have visited in my mind when I close my eyes.


a path leading into the mountains in Vietnam Original ink painting by Jill
Into the mountains

The visual is very important to me, so I’m not surprised that the Lord gives me so many visions.


One of my close friends, who lives in Middlesbrough, North East England, love words and writing. She has words from the Lord for people, but they are words, not pictures. I'm not surprised by this, because God knows how we are made.


Isaiah's Vision

In the year that King Uzziah died, I saw the Lord, high and exalted, seated on a throne; and the train of his robe filled the temple.
Above him were seraphim, each with six wings: With two wings they covered their faces, with two they covered their feet, and with two they were flying.
And they were calling to one another: “Holy, holy, holy is the LORD Almighty; the whole earth is full of his glory.”
At the sound of their voices the doorposts and thresholds shook and the temple was filled with smoke.
“Woe to me!” I cried. “I am ruined! For I am a man of unclean lips, and I live among a people of unclean lips, and my eyes have seen the King, the LORD Almighty.”
Then one of the seraphim flew to me with a live coal in his hand, which he had taken with tongs from the altar. With it he touched my mouth and said, “See, this has touched your lips; your guilt is taken away and your sin atoned for.”
Then I heard the voice of the Lord saying, “Whom shall I send? And who will go for us?” And I said, “Here am I. Send me!”
Isaiah 6 v 1-8

How I long for a vision of the glory of the Lord like this!


I have seen many visions which I believe were messages from God.


One of the most significant visions that I have ever had was of an old sailing ship with rigging and three main masts.


We were living in Bradford, West Yorkshire when the children were little. I was happy there, but my husband, Andy, began to feel restless. He hadn’t had a dream or a prophecy, but he just felt it was time to move on.

However, I didn’t want to.


Despite this, Andy signed up with a recruiting agency. He was looking for Chemical Engineering jobs in Manchester when they suggested Middlesbrough, Teesside. We weren’t even sure where it was.


When we prayed together about this opportunity, I saw the sailing ship for the first time, which I ignored. Andy went for the interview and was offered the job.


So, we prayed about it again, and I saw the ship again, but this time it was in a habour. I asked the Lord why it was still there and He replied, ‘Because you haven’t cut the anchor.’


After that we had to visit Middlesbrough. We drove to centre of town and parked in an ordinary-looking car park which had a lift down into a shopping centre. The lift had glass sides and as we descended there was the ship - a third-size model of The Endeavour, Captain Cook’s ship. It was almost the first thing we saw in Teesside. We didn’t even know that Captain Cook was born there.


Visions like this are hard to ignore and so we moved to Middlesbrough. It was a bit like a neon light in the sky, saying - Move here! The first year was very difficult for me. Although I really missed my friends in Bradford, it was OK because I was confident that we were where the Lord wanted us to be.


The vision helped me persevere.


Middlesbrough was our home for eighteen years, our children grew up there and I have so many fond memories of the town. We still visit it regularly have many good friends there.


We started meeting refugees, including Iranians. The UK government's dispersal policy means that they don't send asylum seekers to Bradford, because of its larger ethnic minority population. If we had stayed in Bradford, and not moved to Middlesbrough, we wouldn't have meet so many people from different countries. Our life's work has mainly been among refugee communities.

God knew!


Ron Kenoly – I See the Lord (Live)


Ron Kenoly was born in Kansas, US in 1944. His aim is ‘to create an environment for the manifold presence of God.’ I believe he succeeds here, with sensitive guitar accompaniment. This song was written by Don Moen and John Chisum.


54 views0 comments

Comments


bottom of page